{Flashback Friday} The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (9)

Flashback Friday on Swoony Boys Podcast featuring The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

It’s time for Flashback Friday, where we feature a book that’s at least two years old. They could be books we’ve read and loved or books we need to jump on.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Published on 3/9/2010 by Dial

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Ah, Joe Fontaine! *bat*bat*bat* Let us count the ways that we love you so. This is truly a must read and will always be one of our favorites.

Grab your copy of The Sky is Everywhere and Add The Sky is Everywhere to Your TBR List.

Want to participate? Post your Flashback Friday and link it below!


Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday is a weekly meme hosted right here on Swoony Boys Podcast with our favorite twinnies over on Fiction Fare. Join us! Get the deets here.


Comments

  1. I’ve heard of that book before, but I never read it because I could sense I would be walking into a love triangle fiasco. I’m glad you liked it though! 🙂

    Monique recently posted: Flashback Friday
  2. Tiffany Mahaffy says:

    So I am oddly attracted to this cover but the synopsis is really what did it for me <3. Thank you for featuring this book because otherwise I may hbe never met it!!

  3. This is one of my all-time favorite YA novels ever! The perfect pick for Flashback Friday. Definitely recommend it to everyone. Great choice. xoxo

    Liza (WhoRuBlog) recently posted: COVER REVEAL: FINALLY, FOREVER by Katie Kacvinsky

OMG Let's Totally Talk About It...

*

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.