Broken: The Teen Behind the Tale by CJ Lyons

We helped reveal the cover for Broken by CJ Lyons back in July and are happy to share this amazing video interview between CJ and her niece, Abby, who inspired the character of Scarlet Killian in Broken with you today.

As a former Pediatric ER doctor, CJ diagnosed Abby with Long QT Syndrome a mere 20 minutes after she was born. This rare, untreatable heart condition is the same disease Scarlet suffers from in Broken. Watch the video to find out how Abby copes with her disease and how she feels about being the inspiration of CJ’s debut YA novel!


Broken by CJ Lyons
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on November 5, 2013
Pages: 336

goodreadsamazonkindlenookindieThe Book Depository

For Scarlet Killian, every day is a game of Russian roulette—she has a 1 in 5 chance of dying…

New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons makes her YA debut with a fast-paced thriller sure to keep readers guessing to the very last page.

Fifteen-year-old Scarlet Killian has one chance for a normal life. Only problem? It just might kill her. Diagnosed with a rare and untreatable heart condition, Scarlet has never taken the school bus. Or giggled with friends during lunch. Or spied on a crush out of the corner of her eye. Scarlet has come to terms with the fact that despite the best efforts of her doctors and parents, she’s going to die. Literally of a broken heart. So when her parents offer her a week to prove she can survive high school, Scarlet knows her time is now… or never.

Scarlet can feel her heart beating out of control with every slammed locker and every sideways glance in the hallway. But for the first time in her life she makes real friends. She also makes new discoveries about the truth behind her illness… a truth that might just kill her before her heart does.

Don’t miss out on this amazing story. We have an exciting, can’t-miss opportunity for fans of New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons. Her debut YA thriller Broken, is now available at an unbelievable discounted price of $4.99 (ebook ONLY). But this special price is only available if you pre-order the novel before November 5!

Preorder Broken by CJ Lyons for only 4.99

About CJ Lyons

A New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of sixteen novels, former pediatric ER doctor CJ Lyons has lived the life she writes about in her cutting edge thrillers with heart. CJ has been called a “master within the genre” (Pittsburgh Magazine), and her work has been praised as “breathtakingly fast-paced” and “riveting” (Publishers Weekly) with “characters with beating hearts and three dimensions” (Newsday). The author of thrillers such as the Lucy Guardino FBI series, she has sold over 1 million books in the last year.

When not writing, she can be found walking the beaches near her South Carolina Lowcountry home in Columbia, SC, listening to the voices in her head and plotting new and devious ways to create mayhem for her characters. To learn more about her Thrillers with Heart, find CJ online:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

***GIVEAWAY***

We’ve got a special signed ARC of Broken to Give Away!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What do you think? Are you as excited to read Broken by CJ Lyons as we are?


Comments

  1. Love the cover! This book has already been on my radar because of some great early reviews.

  2. Meghan Stith says:

    Yeah. It looks really good and that cover is beautiful!

  3. Great interview! How crazy that her own aunt was able to diagnose her 20 minutes after birth! I’ve heard of this condition before and I know some struggle with it more than others but I am glad to hear that Abby is able to live a normal life for the most part. Yay for modern medicine and proactive doctors!

    • Oh yeah, and this has been on my TBR list since long (no pun intended) before it came out! This book sounds all kinds of awesome!

  4. Yes!! I am very excited to read Broken!
    It sounds amazing!!
    Thanks for the chance to win!

OMG Let's Totally Talk About It...

*

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.